Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

2015-06-09T09:00:56+02:00

An Absence Of Light by Meradeth Houston

Publié par Léatitia

Hello everyone ! 

 

 

Today I'm happy to show you an excerpt of a Paranormal novel. I hope you will enjoy and go buy it !

 

 

 

 

 

Book & Author details :
 

An Absence of Light by Meradeth Houston 
Published by : Evernight Teen
Publication date : October 31st 2014
Genres : Horror, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Synopsis:

 

Leah’s always seen the shadow creatures. She thought she was immune to their evil—until now.

She’s walked into a massacre, stolen a BMW, and is running from the law for a crime she didn’t commit. Nineteen-year-old Leah’s life just went from mildly abnormal to totally crazy at lightning speed. But no one will believe that the shadow creatures are framing her for the murder, because she’s the only one that can see them. At least that’s what she thought.

When Leah stumbled across a group who share her ability, she discovers they have something she doesn’t: a way to fight back. When the group offers to teach her how to kill the shadow creatures, Leah jumps at the chance. But something is brewing with the creatures. They’re tracking down the hunters like there’s no tomorrow. Leah suspects that maybe there won’t be, and it’s up to her to make sure tomorrow comes. Because she’ll do anything to stop the shadows, including risking her life—and the life of the one she loves—to keep the world from being lost to darkness forever.

 

 
 
Purchase:
 
 
 
AUTHOR BIO : 
 
 
Meradeth’s never been a big fan of talking about herself, but if you really want to know, here are some random tidbits about her:

She’s a Northern California girl. And now is braving the cold winters in Montana.
When she’s not writing, she’s sequencing dead people’s DNA. For fun!
She’s also an anthropology professor and loves getting people interested in studying humans.
If she could have a super-power, it would totally be flying. Which is a little strange, because she’s terrified of heights.

Author links:
 

 

Excerpt :

 

The dead don’t blink.

My father’s blank stare seemed to follow me around the room. My mother, beside him, had a narrow-eyed glare that made me flinch. I couldn’t even bear to look at my sister. Something about her frozen expression made my stomach tighten. I don’t think I’ve ever seen her be still. Ever.

The wail of a siren in the distance settled my new reality around me, like a heavy shroud. I’d called 911 when I noticed the front door ajar. I hadn’t expected to find this inside. Now, I had to get out before anyone saw me.

Blood, cool and sticky, seeped through the knees of my jeans. Hitching back a sob, I pressed my lips to the forehead of each of my family members: A silent goodbye, which should have been so much more.

With stumbling steps, I hurried through my darkened house. They’d made sure not a single bulb worked, which pissed me off enough to worm through my grief.

“Miserable, horrible, stupid, things,” I growled. My feet crunched over broken glass in the kitchen and I slid into the counter. My mother’s favorite pitcher sat there, full of iced tea, ready for dinner just like any other night. A bloody handprint streaked across the counter next to it. With shaking fingers, I pressed my palm against the print. It had to be my mom’s—her hands were the same size as mine.

A hitching sob doubled me over. How could this happen?

The siren grew louder, wailing like the beast of my grief in my chest. All I wanted to do was to huddle on the floor and whimper. But

I had to get out. If I didn’t go now, I’d never escape. No time for clothes, extra cash, anything.

They wanted it that way. Stifling a cry at this painful realization, I fumbled with the back door, finally releasing the lock. Run, run, run... 

 

Voir les commentaires

commentaires

M
Thank you so much for posting about my novel!!
Répondre

Girl Gift Template by Ipietoon Blogger Template | Gift Idea - Hébergé par Overblog

Njkinny Tours & Promotions